Solid Waste & Recycling


David Betts to step down from EPSC

After building one of Canada's leading industry stewardship organizations, David Betts will step down as President ...

After building one of Canada’s leading industry stewardship organizations, David Betts will step down as President and CEO of Electronics Product Stewardship Canada (EPSC) in June of this year. Betts has been president of the industry-led, not-for-profit organization that has been working to design, promote and implement sustainable solutions for the recycling of end-of-life electronics since it was founded in 2003.

Betts feels that EPSC, which represents 22 of the leading consumer electronics and information technology manufacturers, has been successful in working with governments, recyclers and other stakeholders to create effective programs that will result in environmentally responsible recycling.

“When EPSC began, we wanted to see programs that worked at the provincial level, but that had common elements that helped to integrate the programs across the country, Betts said. “We also wanted to ensure that there were strict guidelines and standards in place to ensure that electronics were processed and recycled in a safe and environmentally sound manner.

“With industry-led programs about to begin in British Columbia and Saskatchewan, and the implementation of our Recycling Vendor Qualification Program (RVQP) that assesses and qualifies the companies that recycle electronic products, we are seeing tangible results that will protect our environment, and the people who work in the recycling industry. I am confident that EPSC and its member companies will continue to see effective provincial programs established across the country.”

The Chair of the EPSC Board, Garry Travers of IBM Canada Ltd., expressed his appreciation for Bett’s role in shaping the organization.

“We have benefited from David Betts’ strong leadership to establish EPSC, and to see electronics recycling become a reality in Canada,’ Travers said. “As a result, Canada has set a very high standard, and has developed an international reputation for its approach to effective, environmentally sound electronics recycling. We shall miss David’s significant contributions that have resulted in industry and government working together to establish the two provincial programs that will begin later this year.”

Travers also outlined the next steps for EPSC.

“Over the next few months we will take the opportunity to assess the needs and requirements for EPSC as an organization that is now four years old. With several provincial programs established or in development, and our RVQP standards in place, we can take time over the next few months to review and assess our current leadership and organizational requirements. We look forward to the next phase of EPSC, and to finding a leader to continue setting the highest standard in environmentally responsible stewardship.”

Betts will officially leave his position in June 2007, and will continue serving as President and CEO of EPSC until that time

About EPSC

EPSC is an industry-led organization of leading Canadian electronics manufacturers that are working to design, promote and implement sustainable solutions for the recycling of end-of-life electronics. It works with stakeholders to create effective environmental stewardship programs across Canada. This not-for-profit organization was founded in 2003 by Electro-Federation Canada, (EFC) the Information Technology Association of Canada, (ITAC) and leading consumer electronics and information technology manufacturers. Governed by a Board of Directors, its current members include: Agilent Technologies; Apple Canada Inc., Brother International Corporation (Canada) Ltd., Canon Canada Inc., Dell Canada, Hewlett-Packard (Canada) Co., Hitachi Canada Ltd., IBM Canada Ltd., Lenovo Canada, Lexmark Canada Inc., LG Electronics Canada, Logitech, Microsoft Canada Co., Mind Computers, Northern Micro Inc., Panasonic Canada Inc., Philips Electronics, Samsung Electronics Canada Inc., Sharp Electronics of Canada Ltd., Sony of Canada Ltd., Thomson Multimedia Ltd. and Toshiba of Canada Ltd.

For further information, visit or contact Jay Illingworth, Vice-President Electronics Product Stewardship Canada Office: 613-238 4822 ext. 225 or

Print this page

Related Posts

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *