Solid Waste & Recycling


Composting Council seeks new board members

Susan Antler, Executive Director of The Composting Council of Canada (CCC) is calling for new nominations for the C...

Susan Antler, Executive Director of The Composting Council of Canada (CCC) is calling for new nominations for the CCCs Board of Directors. She writes:

This year, as in the past, we have had the incredibly great fortune to have a group of individuals and organizations who have gone beyond their membership dues and served as members of the National Board of Directors of The Composting Council of Canada. (See list below.) Each one of these folks has committed their time, expertise and incremental dollars to attend to the day-to-day and long-term goals of The Council.

And for this, all members of The Council and our collective efforts to advance composting and compost usage in Canada have benefited.
As years go, it has been quite a year. And as we gear up for the final countdown towards our national conference, we would like to recognize and thank our Board members for the past terms (identified below) as well as advise all members of our Council that nominations are now open for the roster for the upcoming National Board of Directors.

The term is two years. There are four meetings throughout the year, held in each region (as identified in our By-Laws) of the country (West, Ontario, Quebec, Atlantic Canada). There is no remuneration for being a member of the National Board and, in fact, each Board member must be responsible for their travel to the four Board meetings held during the year.

If you are interested in being considered for election to the National Board of Directors or have an interest in contributing more actively to our overall industrys needs to move composting and compost usage forward in your region, could you please let Danielle Buklis or myself know by end of day, Friday August 23, 2007. Depending on interest, there might need to be a membership vote before our General Annual Meeting (to be held at the end of our National Conference on Friday September 21, 2007).
Visit or call 416-535-0240

The 2006-2007 National Board of Directors roster has been as follows:

Chair: Barry Friesen, The Regional Municipality of Niagara

Vice-Chair: Sophie Taillefer, Recyc-Qubec

Secretary : John Bartlett, Procter & Gamble

Treasurer : Mitch Banks

Atlantic Canada Chair: Heather Myers, Island Waste Management Corporation

Qubec Chair: Denis Potvin, Conporec

Ontario Chair: Tom Hennessey, Miller Composting Corporation

Western Canada Chair: Allan Yee, City of Edmonton

Members at Large:

Trevor Barton, The Region of Peel

Brian Brunetti, EnGlobe Corp.

Dave Douglas, Clorox Company of Canada

Scott Gamble, CH2M Hill

Christiane Glinas, Ville de Montral

Jim Graham, TRY Recycling

Greg Patterson, A&L Canada Laboratories, Inc.

Mike Saley, City of Calgary

Bill Slater, Westmorland-Albert Solid Waste Corporation

Paul van der Werf, 2cg Waste Management Consulting

Maura Walker, Gartner Lee Limited

Print this page

Related Posts

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *