Solid Waste & Recycling


2004 Canadian Environment Awards winners

On May 31 in Sprice Meadows, Calgary the Canadian Environment Awards announced the gold and silver award recipients...

On May 31 in Sprice Meadows, Calgary the Canadian Environment Awards announced the gold and silver award recipients in its Community Awards program.

Spruce Meadows, in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains, was the site of a gala awards dinner to recognize the finalists in the third annual Canadian Environment Awards. This national program celebrates the commitment of Canadians who are acting locally to help protect, preserve and restore the country’s environment.

The centrepiece of the Canadian Environment Awards is the Community Awards, which honours individuals and groups of Canadians who have been chosen by a panel of environmental experts from more than 140 nominations submitted by the Canadian public. The gold and silver winners in the six categories of the Community Awards were announced tonight (complete list attached).

The gold award recipients are:
Climate Change
William Big Bull
Piikani Nation Weather Dancer wind turbine (Alberta)

Bill Turner
The Land Conservancy of British Columbia (British Columbia)

Environmental Health
CAW Windsor Regional Environment Council
Auto workers environmental-action group (Ontario)

Environmental Learning
Joan Carne and Louise Towell
Stream of Dreams Murals Society (British Columbia)

Restoration & Rehabilitation
Gary Schneider
Macphail Woods Ecological Forestry Project (Prince Edward Island)

Sustainable Living
Harrop-Procter Watershed Protection Society
Community ecosystem-based forestry project (British Columbia)

The Honourable David Anderson, Minister of the Environment, and Linda Z. Cook, president and CEO of Shell Canada Limited, presented each gold recipient with a cheque for $5,000, which the winners will donate to the environmental cause of their choice. All silver and gold award recipients were recognized with a plaque from Canada Post that features a recent stamp series commemorating the wildlife art of John James Audubon.

Last night’s keynote address was delivered by World Wildlife Fund Canada executive director and president Monte Hummel, who is the recipient of the Canadian Environment Awards Citation of Lifetime Achievement. The Junior and Senior winners of The Green Team Challenge, which is the youth initiative of the Canadian Environment Awards, were also honoured (see attached).

Inspired by the community-action objectives of Canada’s Environment Week, which will be celebrated until June 6, the Canadian Environment Awards comprises three environmental programs Community Awards, Citation of Lifetime Achievement and The Green Team Challenge. The Canadian Environment Awards is a partnership between the Government of Canada and Canadian Geographic Enterprises, which is the managing partner and publisher of the digest-sized awards magazine. The Canadian Environment Awards 2004 is supported by 14 Canadian corporations.

Photographs of the Canadian Environment Awards 2004 gala and biographies of each of this year’s finalists are available at

Diane Chaperon-Lor
Public Relations Manager
Telephone: 416-653-0849
Cellphone: 416-788-8271

Gold Award
William Big Bull, Piikani Nation Weather Dancer wind turbine, Brocket, Alberta

Silver Award
Science North, The Climate Change Show, Sudbury, Ontario

Gold Award
Bill Turner, The Land Conservancy of British Columbia, Victoria, British Columbia

Silver Award
Eliza Olson, Burns Bog Conservation Society, Delta, British Columbia
Yellowstone to Yukon, Wildland corridor conservation initiative, Canmore, Alberta

Gold Award
CAW Windsor Regional Environment Council, Auto workers environmental-action group, Windsor, Ontario

Silver Award
Maisie Shiell, Uranium mining activist, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Bruce Walker, STOP research director, Montral, Quebec

Gold Award
Joan Carne and Louise Towell, Stream of Dreams Murals Society, Burnaby, British Columbia

Silver Award
Campus Calgary Bird School, Ecological learning centre, Calgary, Alberta
RAPPEL, Shoreline protection organization, Sherbrooke, Quebec

Gold Award
Gary Schneider, Macphail Woods Ecological Forestry Project, Belfast, Prince Edward Island

Silver Award
Sackville Rivers Association, River restoration society, Sackville, Nova Scotia
Save Our Seine, River protection society, Winnipeg, Manitoba

Gold Award
Harrop-Procter Watershed Protection Society, Community ecosystem-based forestry project, Procter, British Columbia

Silver Award
Falls Brook Centre, Model sustainable community, Knowlesville, New Brunswick
Westmorland-Albert Solid Waste Corporation, Waste diversion program, Moncton, New Brunswick

Monte Hummel, Toronto, Ontario

Lindsay Park Elementary School
Kimberley, British Columbia

Social Responsibility Committee
Dover Bay Secondary School
Nanaimo, British Columbia

Print this page

Related Posts

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *