Solid Waste & Recycling


Waste industry professionals honoured

More than two dozen men and women in the solid waste industry were honoured for their service to the field a...

More than two dozen men and women in the solid waste industry were honoured for their service to the field at a special awards ceremony on May 4, 2010.

The event was sponsored by the Environmental Industry Associations (EIA), the National Solid Wastes Management Association (NSWMA) and the Waste Equipment Technology Association (WASTEC).

EIA is the trade association representing the waste and recycling services and equipment industry throughout the U.S. through its two sub-associations, NSWMA and WASTEC.

NSWMA represents for-profit companies that provide solid, hazardous and medical waste collection, recycling and waste disposal services, and companies that provide professional and consulting services to the waste services industry.

WASTEC represents companies that design, build, distribute, service and consult with respect to the equipment and technology systems that are used to collect, contain, transport, store, process, recycle, treat and dispose of the world’s solid wastes and recyclable materials.

The breakfast ceremony was held in Atlanta during Waste Expo 2010, North America’s largest solid waste and recycling tradeshow.

“We are honored to recognize these 28 individuals,” says President and CEO of EIA and NSWMA Bruce J. Parker. “These industry leaders have demonstrated outstanding achievements in advancing the reputation of our industry as service oriented, safety conscious and environmentally innovative.”

Those honoured at the event included:

EIA Driver of the Year

-Kenneth Aldrich, Republic Services, Inc. (Aurora, Illinois) – Large Commercial Category
-Rodney Poe, Republic Services, Inc. (Indianapolis, Indiana) – Large Industrial Category
-Anthony Lucious, Republic Services, Inc. (Las Vegas, Nevada) – Large Residential Category
-Coury Greear, Town of Gilbert (Gilbert, Arizona) – Public Sector Category
-Phillip Rogers, Windsor Sanitation, Inc. (Windsor, Connecticut) – Small Commercial Category
-David Merrill, Rogue Disposal and Recycling, Inc. (White City, Oregon) – Small Residential Category

EIA Hall of Fame

-Anthony Ciofalo, Senior Business Development Manager, Clean Energy Fuels (Elko, Minnesota)
-Ronald McCracken, President, RJM Associates (Easy, South Carolina)
-Bob Gregory, CEO and Principal Owner, Texas Disposal Systems, Inc. (Austin, Texas)
-Michael Cordesman, former President and COO, Republic Services, Inc. (Phoenix, Arizona)
-Garwin McNeilus, former President, McNeilus Companies (Dodge Center, Minnesota)

EIA Special Trustee Award

-James VanWeelden, Senior Vice President, Environmental Development and Compliance, Republic Service, Inc. (Phoenix, Arizona)

NSWMA Distinguished Service Award

-Bruce Georgov, President, Independent Disposal Services (Townsend, Delaware)
-Randall Russell, President, Kenvirons, Inc. (Frankfort, Kentucky)
-Patrick Sullivan, Vice President, SCS Engineers (Sacramento, California)

NSWMA Member of the Year Award

-Lisa Kardell, Director, Government Affairs, Delmarva Area, Waste Management, Inc. (Washington, D.C.)

NSWMA Special Governor’s Award

-Mike Berkopec, Business Manager, ACE Solid Waste, Inc. (Ramsey, Minnesota)
-Tom Brown, President and COO, IESI Corp. (Fort Worth, Texas)
-George Geletko, Waste Management, Inc. (Melbourne, Florida)
-Dan Gorske, Midwest Region, Director of Municipal Services, Republic Services, Inc. (Melrose Park, Illinois)
-Bill Killian, former President, Pima Waste of Tucscon (Phoenix, Arizona)
-Mark Miller, Senior Hyrdogeologist, Daniel B. Stephens & Associates (Albuquerque, New Mexico)

WASTEC Distinguished Service Award

-Stephen Ginter, Mack Trucks, Inc. (Coopersburg, Pennsylvania)

WASTEC Employee of the Year

-For Engineering: Denis Ding, Vice President of Engineering and Construction, -Clean Energy (Seal Beach, California)
-For Production: Steve Burke, Baler Production Lead Manager, PTR Balter & Compacter Co. (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)
-For Sales & Marketing: Marv Banowetz (posthumous), Heil Environmental (Chattanooga, Tennessee)
-For Sales & Marketing: Sharon Wright, National Accounts Sales Manager, J.V. Manufacturing, Inc. (Springdale, Arkansas)

WASTEC Member of the Year Award

-Bill Wilkerson, Vice President, sales & marketing, Marathon Equipment Co. (Vernon, Alabama)

Print this page

Related Posts

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *