Oregon, the first state to launch a beverage container deposit program, will also be the first in the U.S. to increase its deposit amount.
The Beaver State will boost its 5-cent deposit to 10 cents starting April 1, 2017, according to the Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC). Under state law, the hike was triggered because Oregon experienced two consecutive years in which the redemption rate came in below 80 percent. OLCC, a state agency, oversees Oregon's redemption program.
The 2015 redemption rate was 64.5 percent, and the 2014 rate was 68.3 percent, according to the OLCC.